What is Sinology?

Sinology belongs to the humanities and is dedicated to the study of China. Given the current expansion as an economic, cultural and military power, the concern of  sinologists consists, among other things, of building up skills in dealing with glocal meanings of China’s past and present. With progressive training, sinologists gain necessary knowledge and skills in order to conduct research in sinological fields of interest using scientific methods and to communicate their very results.

What do I do as a graduate in Sinology?

Sinological training mainly qualifies students in their ability to think critically by the means of scientific methods. By attaining a master’s degree, the way for a dissertation can be paved, which may open up the possibility of an academic career. Even during their undergraduate education, students can acquire “hard skills” in form of knowledge in Chinese culture and language skills, which are more and more in demand on the labor market. Career opportunities for graduates of  BA and MA programmes in Sinology are particularly available in the areas of translation and interpreting, the diplomatic service, as well as the culture and media industries. The employ-ability of  university graduates can be enhanced by deliberate decisions  for subsequent trainee programmes.

Sinology in Leipzig

Sinology in Leipzig has a tradition going back to the 19th Century. In its curriculum, our institute currently provides broad competencies in the study of modern and proto-modern China. Special emphasis are apparent by the research fields of the institute’s members and visiting scholars, as well as collaborations with other academic institutions in the fields of history, philosophy, economics, religion and literature. Participation in these research fields and the continuous expansion of individual core competencies can be achieved by a well-founded Chinese language training at the institute as well as during study visits in the Chinese-speaking world.

Was ist Sinologie?

Sinologie gehört zu den Gesellschaftswissenschaften und widmet sich der Erforschung Chinas. Angesichts der gegenwärtigen Expansion als Wirtschafts-, Kultur- und  Militärmacht besteht das Anliegen der Sinologen u.a. darin, Kompetenzen im Umgang mit glokalen Bedeutungen Chinas in Geschichte und Gegenwart aufzubauen und zu vermitteln. Mit fortschreitender Ausbildung verfügen sie über notwendige Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten, um sinologische Interessenfelder mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden zu erschließen und zu kommunizieren.

Was mache ich mit einem Abschluss in Sinologie?

In der sinologischen Ausbildung steht die Befähigung zum kritischen Denken und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten im Vordergrund. Mittels eines Masterabschlusses kann der Weg für eine Promotion geebnet werden, die die Möglichkeit einer wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn eröffnen kann. Bereits während ihrer Bachelor-Ausbildung können Studierende sich wichtige “hard skills” in Form chinesischer Kultur- und Sprachkompetenzen aneignen, welche auf dem Arbeitsmarkt immer mehr nachgefragt werden. Berufliche Chancen für Absolventen der BA- und MA-Studiengänge ergeben sich besonders in den Bereichen des Übersetzens und Dolmetschens, des diplomatischen Dienstes, wie auch der Kultur- und Medienwirtschaft. Der berufliche Einstieg kann durch zielgerichtete Wahlbereichsentscheidungen, studienbegleitende Praktika, sowie anschließende Traineeprogramme (u.ä.) erleichtert werden.

Sinologie in Leipzig

Sinologie hat in Leipzig eine bis ins 19. Jahrhundert zurückreichende Tradition. Das Institut deckt heute in seinem Lehrangebot breite Bereiche der Erforschung des modernen und protomodernen China ab. Besondere Schwerpunkte ergeben sich aus den Forschungsfeldern der Institutsmitglieder und Gastwissenschaftler sowie aus Kooperationen mit anderen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in den Bereichen Geschichte, Philosophie, Ökonomie, Religion und Literatur. Die Beteiligung an diesen Forschungsfeldern sowie die stetige Erweiterung individueller Kernkompetenzen kann durch eine fundierte chinesische Sprachausbildung am Institut sowie durch Studienaufenthalte im chinesischen Sprachraum erreicht werden.